audi vs austin

Currently, the world of car design is being wowed by the concepts and cars at the Geneva Motor Show 2013. So far, I’m really very excited by the new Ferrari LaFerrari, it’s simply stunning. Other highlights are the VW XL1, and the concepts from ItalDesign and Pininfarina. We also have one of the blog contributors heading to the show this week, so perhaps we should wait for first hand reports to be written? I’ll add a post about my favourite cars too…. anyway, back on topic, I saw an Audi A1 sportback today in the city where I live. It is horrible, a little runt of a car, for people who want a proper Audi but are poor. I really don’t understand the level of downsizing that Audi do with the same design… why not just push the Polo, or VW Up? The money goes to the same company! What struck me though, about the A1, was it’s similarity to one of the most disliked cars in history- the Austin Allegro! Could the A1 be the nail in Audi’s brand coffin? A step too far that topples the company from “must have” cool, to just another ubiquitous car maker…

I googled, and made these quick comparison images. I used Audi’s own car configuration website to create the images of A1s. Buyers are able to specify a two-tone colour scheme, with black roof, exactly like the vinyl roof on the Allegro.ImageImage

Leave a Reply

